Bad news for those of you who have sexually explicit images on their Blogger, your blog is going to be automatically set to private thanks to Google’s recent change in policy. While your blog won’t be deleted, Google is making it so that only admins, yourself, and people with whom you’ve shared your blog will be able to see it. This change will take effect in a month for existing blogs.
Anyone who’s running a blog containing sexually explicit images on Google’s blogging platform, Blogger, is in for a nasty surprise — their blogs will soon be made private. Those blogs’ content won’t be deleted, but it will only be visible to the blog’s owner and admins, as well as users with whom the blog has been shared. Google announced the change in an update to its Adult content policy on Blogger Monday. For existing blogs, the change will go into effect March 23, 2015. After that date, anyone who shares sexually explicit imagery on Blogger may see their blog removed from the service. Not all explicit content will be affected, though. Google will still allow nudity “if the content offers a substantial public benefit, for example in artistic, educational, documentary, or scientific contexts,” the company claims.