Apple’s two-step verification has expanded to 48 more countries


With credit card information usually being linked to iTunes, and with your iTunes credentials allowing you to track your iPhone and disable it remotely, it’s safe to say that keeping your account secure would be a priority. Well the good news is that if you’ve always felt that the default way of logging in, which is via a username and password, is too insecure, you might be pleased to learn that Apple has rolled out its two-step authentication system to 48 countries. Prior to this, the two-step authentication system was limited to 11 countries, but Apple has recently brought the feature to 48 countries, bringing the total to 59 countries.

Just over a year after first enabling two-step verification for its pervasive Apple ID account system, Apple on Thursday revealed the feature’s expansion to nearly 50 additional countries around the world in an updated technical support document. The rollout marks the second such expansion for two-step verification, which first appeared last March. Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and Spain were added to the list alongside the U.S., Australia, Ireland, New Zealand and the U.K. in February of this year. Apple’s two-step verification system makes use of the iOS push notification system and SMS to provide an additional layer of security for Apple IDs. Once enrolled, users are asked to provide a single-use, four-digit code alongside their traditional username and password login before being granted access. The company has recently tested extension of the feature to, though it is unclear when that change will be pushed into production. Thursday’s move is the second security update to come from Apple this week after the iPhone maker begin in-transit encryption of email messages from iCloud to popular providers including Google’s Gmail on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like